Shining Star Award Recipients

2023 Recipient: Kristi Chapman, OTR, CHT

Kristi Chapman, OTR, CHT is the lead and senior hand therapist for Craig Cryer Therapy Services at OakBend Hospital.  In 1998, she received her occupational therapy degree from Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center in Lubbock, Texas and has served the Fort Bend/Sugarland area for the past 23 years.  Her passion for hand therapy started early in her career and soon led to her becoming a Certified Hand Therapist in May 2014.  Throughout the process to become a CHT and since achieving this esteemed accomplishment, she prides herself on mentoring others that want to learn more about the specialization of hand and upper extremity therapy.  She has experience in a wide variety of upper extremity injuries.  She has served in the hand therapy community, holding positions on the Board of Directors for the Texas Society for Hand Therapy.  She is a member of the American Society of Hand Therapists and continues to remain current with the latest techniques and evidence based practice in hand therapy.  Her goals with her patients are to educate, restore, maintain, and adapt movements to promote optimal mobility and pain reduction with a holistic approach.  Kristi enjoys traveling and spending time with her friends and family, interacting with patients, exercising, playing with her pets, and participating in outdoor activities with her husband in the warm Houston weather.


Past Shining Star Recipients

2022: Helen Konduris, MOTR, CHT

2021: Judith Cissell McAnelly, OTR, CHT

2020: Kimberly Goldie Staines, OTR, CHT

2019: Beth Bergeron, OTR, CHT

2018: Kimatha Oxford Grice, OTR, CHT

2017 Molly Hudson, OTR, CHT

2016: Aida Galindo, OTR, CHT

2015: Marisol Monasterio, OTR, CHT

2014: Carol Mullins, OTR, CHT

2013: Laura Vielma, PT, CHT

2012: Sheila Heflin, OTR, CHT

2011: Kathy Brou, OTR, CHT

2010: Ann Garvin, OTR, CHT

2009: Mary Ann Appleby, MA, OTR, CHT

2008: Peggy Boineau, OTR, CHT

2007: Kim Granhaug, OTR, CHT

2006: Karen Roeming, OTR, CHT

2005: Valerie Wilette, OTR, CHT

2004: Melissa Parrot, OTR, CHT

2003: Karen Griggs, OTR, CHT